2007 - 2012 University of California at Berkeley - Ph.D. in Music (Prof. Edmund Campion)
2000 - 2007 Sibelius Academy in Helsinki, Finland - Master of Music (Prof. Eero Hämeenniemi and Veli-Matti Puumala)
1998 - 2000 National Conservatory of Music in Lima, Peru (Prof. Enrique Iturriaga)

ADevantgarde Festival (Germany)
Aspen Music Festival
Carnegie Hall
Darmstadt International Summer Course for New Music (Germany)
Donaueschingen Music Festival (Germany)
Gewandhaus Leipzig (Germany)
Grant Park Music Festival
Hanko Music Festival (Finland)
Kennedy Center
Konzerthaus Berlin (Germany)
Lima Contemporary Music Festival (Peru)
Musica Nova Festival (Finland)
Sydney Opera House (Australia)
Tanglewood Music Festival 

2017 Hewlett Foundation's Hewlett50 Arts Commissions
2016 TUMI USA Award in the "Arts & Culture" category
2015 Luces Award for his "Perú Negro" album released by Harmonia Mundi - Diario El Comercio Perú 
2015 Musician of the Year Award - Diario El Comercio & Ópera Perú
2015 Honorable Mention - Barlow Prize
2015 Special Mention - Casa de las Américas Composition Prize (Cuba)
2014 Premio Antara. In recognition for his outstanding career - Lima Contemporary Music Festival
2013 Prince Prize. Awarded to Lyric Opera of Chicago and the composer - Prince Charitable Trusts
2012 1st Prize - Nicola de Lorenzo Music Composition Contest - University of California, Berkeley (UCB)
2011 1st Prize - Nicola de Lorenzo Music Composition Contest - UCB
2009 Georges Ladd Prix De Paris - UCB
2008 Kranichsteiner Musikpreis - Darmstadt International Summer Course for New Music (Germany)
2008 Morton Gould Young Composer Award - New York
2008 2nd Prize - Nicola de Lorenzo Music Composition Contest - UCB
2006 Orchestra Composition Award - SävellYS 2006 Composition Competition (Finland)
2006 Stipendienpreis - 43rd Darmstadt International Summer Course for New Music, Darmstadt (Germany)
2005 Martin Wegelius Recognition Award (Finland)
2005 Honorable Mention - Irino Composition Prize for Chamber Music (Japan)
2003 1st Prize - ALEA III 2003 International Composition Competition in Boston
2002 Orchestra Prize - CCA International Composition Competition (Taiwan)

ADevantgarde Festival
Cal Performances, University Musical Society & Stanford Live (co-commission)
Darmstadt International Summer Course for New Music
Donaueschingen Contemporary Music Festival
Fort Worth Symphony, Atlanta Symphony & Bremen Philharmonic (co-commission)
Houston Symphony
Lima International Contemporary Music Festival
Lima Philharmonic Society
Lyric Opera of Chicago
Miguel Harth-Bedoya
National Orchestra of Spain
Ministry of Education of Peru
Orff Zentrum - Munich
Oulu Music Festival
Radio France
Spanish Cultural Center in Lima
Sphinx Organization, Linda and Stuart Nelson, Carnegie Hall & New World Symphony (co-commission)
SWR (Südwestrundfunk)
Tampere Biennale
Utrechtse Muziekacademie
VI Carlos Prieto International Cello Competition

Grammy (San Francisco Chapter of the Recording Academy) since 2009
ASCAP (American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) since 2008
kohoBeat ry (Vice President) since 2006
Suomen Säveltäjät (The Society of Finnish Composers) since 2004
Circomper (Circle of Composers of Peru) since 2001

His discography includes four CDs, including a 2015 album featuring four orchestral works in collaboration with conductor Miguel Harth-Bedoya, cellist Jesús Castro-Balbi, and the Norwegian Radio Orchestra under the Harmonia Mundi Label. Previous releases include 'Musuq Peru' and 'Inti' under the Filarmonika LLC label, and Vol. 1 of the 'Donaueschinger Musiktage 2009' under the NEOS label.

Aspen Concert Orchestra
Aarhus Symphony Orchestra (Denmark)
Antioquia Symphony Orchestra (Colombia)
Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Avanti! Orchestra (Finland)
Baltimore Symphony Orchestra
Boston Symphony Orchestra
Bremen Philharmonic (Germany)
Cali Philharmonic Orchestra (Colombia)
Charleston Symphony Orchestra
Chicago Lyric Opera Orchestra & Chorus
Chicago Symphony Orchestra
Colorado Symphony Orchestra
Corpus Christi Symphony Orchestra
Deutsche Radio Philharmonie Saarbrücken Kaiserslautern (Germany)
Durango Festival Orchestra
Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra
Frankfurt Radio Symphony (Germany)
Gothenburg Symphony (Sweden)
Grant Park Orchestra
Hamilton Philharmonic Orchestra (Canada)
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra (Finland)
Houston Symphony
Joensuu City Orchestra (Finland)
Kaohsiung City Symphony Orchestra (Taiwan)
kohoBeat Symphony Orchestra (Finland)
MDR Leipzig Radio Symphony Orchestra (Germany)
Memphis Symphony Orchestra
National Symphony Orchestra of Argentina
National Symphony Orchestra of Ecuador
National Symphony Orchestra of Peru
National Symphony Orchestra of Spain
New Zealand Symphony Orchestra
North Carolina Symphony
Norwegian Radio Orchestra
Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France
Oulu Symphony (Finland)
Philadelphia Orchestra
Philharmonic Orchestra of Ecuador
RTVE Symphony Orchestra (Spain)
Sacramento Philharmonic Orchestra
Seattle Symphony
Sibelius Academy Symphony Orchestra (Finland)
Siberian State Symphony Orchestra (Russia)
Stavanger Symphony Orchestra (Norway)
Stockton Symphony Association
Sydney Symphony Orchestra (Australia)
Symphony Orchestra of Chile
Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra (Finland)
TCU Symphony Orchestra
The Hague Residentie Orkest (Netherlands)
UMA Kamerorkest (Netherlands)
Youth Orchestra of the World (Singapore)
Youth Philharmonic of Colombia
Valparaiso University Symphony Orchestra of Indiana
West Virginia University Symphony Orchestra

Arditti Quartet (UK)
Camerata Universidad de Los Andes (Chile)
Caminos del Inka Ensemble (Fort Worth)
CUBE Contemporary Music Ensemble (Chicago)
Ensemble Dal Niente (Chicago)
Ensemble MusikFabrik (Germany)
HMI Orchestra (Florida)
JACK Quartet (New York)
kohoBeat Ensemble (Finland)
Kymi Sinfonietta (Finland)
Latin-American Orchestra (Boston)
Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (Canada)
Lima String Quartet (Peru)
Norrbottens Kammarokester (Sweden)
Orchestra della Svizerra Italiana (Switzerland)
Pori Sinfonietta (Finland)
Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra (Minnesota)
Sphinx Virtuosi (Detroit)
Spokane Symphony (Washington)
UMO Jazz Orchestra (Finland)

2010 Domaine Forget in Québec, Canada (Denys Bouliane, John Rea and Philippe Leroux)
2006 Clapping Music Festival, Finland (Michael Nyman)
2006 Darmstadt International Summer Course for New Music, Germany (H. Lachenmann, T. Hosokawa, B. Furrer, A. Hölszky, M. André, D. Mack, M. Tsangaris)
2005 Villecroze Composition Workshop in France (Betsy Jolas)
2005, 2002 and 2001 Avanti! Suvisoitto Composition Workshop in Porvoo, Finland (Magnus Lindberg and Jouni Kaipainen)
2002 Voix Nouvelles Composition Session in Royaumont, France (Brian Ferneyhough, Jonathan Harvey and Theo Loevendie)
2002 Cesky Krumlov International Composition Classes in Czech Republic (Marek Kopelent and Philipe Manoury)
2001 Stavanger Symphony Orchestra Composition Workshop in Norway (Ole Lützow-Holm and Zsolt Nagy)
2001 Time of Music Festival in Viitasaari, Finland (Klas Torstensson)